Beauty product, Eye shadow

Meet Matt(e) Trimony |Matt Kumar

IMG_0103

Hello My Beauties!

Today we will be learning how to apply eye shadow using the the Meet Matt(e) Trimony matte eye shadow in the shade Matt Kumar. I got this one in my Ipsy Glam Bag for the month of July,2016.

Though this is a free sample and weighs less than a full gram, the full size is available only as part of a full Meet Matt(e) Matrimony eye shadow palette. The entire palette comes up to $42 for 9 eye shadows costing $4.7/- only per eye shadow.

It works out to Rs. 315.60/- only for one eye shadow pan. What I have always loved about products from ‘The Balm’ is their packaging and the clever play on words.

Like this one is Meet Matt(e) Trimony, so they’ve split up ‘matrimony’ into two words. Matte is the first name name of a guy and Trimony is the last name. The shade I have is Matt Kumar, which is a coincidence given my ethnicity.

But some other clever names in this palette are Matt Moskowitz denoting a Russian gentleman, Matt Lopez, Latino and Matt Lin, I think a Chinese or other Asian gentlemen. The tag line on the box is marriage mat(e)rial.

They’ve take poetic licence with the whole word. The shade itself is best described as a matte, brownish maroon.

IMG_0104

It has a smooth, powdery finish when I swatched it on my hands. The website describes it as “……a velvety smooth texture, triple-milled formula and true-to-pan payoff, your look will live on happily ever after. Always easy on the eyes, Meet Matt(e) Trimony transitions from business casual to black tie in no time.”

IMG_0113

The sample itself is really tiny so I don’t know how many uses I can get out of it but we shall see. Using this eye shadow today I am going to take you through a step by step method of how to apply eye shadow.

In my experience, the two most important part of the whole eye shadow application process is not the eye shadow itself but the brushes that one uses and the eye shadow base. I am including a list of all the products and tools I will be using for this look:

IMG_0184
Products and tools used for this blog
  1. Sephora Professionel |Short shader brush| I use this to shade my eyelids
  2. Sigma |Tapered blending brush in E40 | To define the crease
  3. Sigma | Eye shadow base | In the shade ‘Composed’
IMG_0186
Sigma | Eye shadow base and tapered blending brush in E40
  1. The Balm | Eye shadow | In the shade Matt Kumar
  2. Sponge applicator |Part of every eye shadow palette | For applying the base.
  3. Maybelline New York | Eye shadow |Diamond Eye Studio palette | In the shade ‘Wine Pink’
  4. Maybelline New York | Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner | In the shade Black
  5. Maybelline New York | The Colossal Volum Express Waterproof Mascara
IMG_0185
Maybelline New York | Eye shadow palette, liquid eye liner and mascara
  1. Revlon | Colorstay One Stroke Defining Eye Liner| In the shade ‘Blackest Black’

So lets begin. First things first, I will prime my eyes using the eye shadow base. I’ll take a little on my sponge applicator and apply it evenly on both eyes.

I take it up right till my eyebrows . A base provides a foundation for all the colour that you will put on top of it.

It evens out all the little pores on your skin by filling them up so that the color can go on top of it in an even manner. The shade I use is very close to my skin tone and blends in so beautifully that it doesn’t show up at all.

A base also ensures that the eye shadow sticks to it the whole day and does not crease. I find that the base itself needs to set lest you get it on your brush and then it makes the eye shadow sticky.

I usually apply the base and then do a random chore for at least 5 minutes before returning to the eye shadow application. Once dry, I will be applying the Matt Kumar shade on my eyelids with the short shader brush.

This done I will define the crease with a shimmery shade which is the first on in the Maybeline Wine Pink Palete. Its a creamy, peachish eyeshadow shade which shows up peachish in the pan but goes on as a shimmery, sheer white on the eyes.

I will take this on the tapered blending brush and using a car wiper motion will apply this on to my crease. This eye shadow shade gives me a bit of fall out so I will go back in with Matt Kumar on my short shader brush.

This done I will then use the Revlon Colorstay One Stroke Defining Eye Liner to line my water line as well as my lower lash line. On my upper lash line I will use a liquid eye liner.

Today I will be using the Maybelline New York, Hyper Glossy Liquid Liner and I will complete the look with the the Colossal Volum Express Waterproof Mascara And that’s that.

I have used only 2 shades for this look but if you want you could use 3 or more shades for this look. So thats the step by step method using this eye shadow.

I hope you enjoyed reading this.Be sure to like, share and comment on my blog.

And remember, be kind to yourself ‘coz there’s no one like you.

Love!

YLT

PS: Wanna purchase the Meet Matt(e) Trimony palette? Click on the link below:

Meet Matt(e) Trimony.® — Matte Eyeshadow Palette

 

Leave a Reply

